The Jefferson Business Council was proud to recognize three teachers from the Jefferson Parish Public School System who have been nominated for state teacher of the year with the Lucien Gunter Excellence In Teaching Award. JBC Executive Director Tim Coulon awarded a plaque to each teacher and a $1,000 donation to the representative school.

This years award winners are :
Dorothy Shelton - George Cox Elementary
Deitra Bellamy - Meisler Middle School
Mary Carter - West Jefferson High School

Best of luck to these three outstanding teachers!